Ukraine Seeks Foreign Partner for An-74 Aircraft Plant

Ukraine Seeks Foreign Partner for An-74 Aircraft Plant
Ukraine Seeks Foreign Partner for An-74 Aircraft Plant

Ukrainian state concern UkrOboronProm published a proposal statement to find an international partner to revive its Kharkiv State Aviation Manufacturing Company (KSAMC). The plant manufactures An-74 aircraft and has 20 planes to complete production.

According to the statement, the partner should undertake to repay the existing debts of the KSAMC, provide a loan for the initiation of production of the aircraft. It also should programme An-74 modernization.

The statement indicates the advantages and disadvantages of aircraft.

The An-74’s advantages over its closest international competitors such as the C-27J/ C-235/295 aircraft include a higher power-to-weight ratio and a lower price tag. Its fuel consumption, however, is high and maintenance takes longer due to the engine’s location.  

KSAMC’s production facilities can annually produce approximately 12 aircraft (An-74 or An-140) per year.

The partner will have the right to sell An-74s and should buy a certain number of aircraft at a pre-determined price.

The Antonov An-74 (NATO reporting name: Coaler) is a Soviet/Ukrainian transport aircraft developed by Antonov. It is a variant of the An-72.

An unusual design feature of the An-74 is the use of the Coandă effect to improve STOL performance, utilizing engine exhaust gases blown over the wing's upper surface to boost lift. The powerplant used is the Lotarev D-36 turbofan engine.

The An-74 has a payload of 7.5 tons including up to ten passengers in the cargo version, or up to 52 seats in the passenger version; the operating ceiling is 10,100 metres (33,100 ft) and cruising speed is 550 to 700 kilometres per hour (300 to 380 knot; 340 to 430 mph). The aircraft may also be used for highly specialized operations.

Aircraft made its first flight in 1983 and is in service since then.

The operator countries for civilian and military purpose are Iran, Russia, Ukraine, Egypt, Iran Turkmenistan.